• Womxn in Motion, Master symposium, performance by Isabel Lewis, October 2020, photo: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, lecture by Mayra A. Rodríguez Castro, October 2020, photo: Art Institute

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, performance by Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė, October 2020, photo: Art Institute

  • Womxn in Motion, Master symposium, Sonia Fernández Pan, Lynne Kouassi, Isabel Lewis, Sadie Plant, Quinn Latimer, Chus Martínez, October 2020, photo: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master symposium, Isabel Lewis, Sonia Fernández Pan, October 2020, photo: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master symposium, Quinn Latimer, Lynne Kouassi, Chus Martínez, October 2020, photo: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master symposium, performance by Isabel Lewis, October 2020, photo: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Women on Earth, Master symposium, Chus Martínez, Rosella Biscotti, Sophie Jung, Quinn Latimer, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, October 2019

  • Women on Earth, Master symposium, Quinn Latimer, October 2019, photo: Christian Knörr

  • Women on Earth, Master symposium, Lysann König, Songs for Two Suns, performance, October 2019

  • Promise no Promises!, Master symposium, Natasha Sadr, Chus Martinez, Mareike Dittmer, Quinn Latimer, Stefanie Hessler, October 2018

  • Promise no Promises!, Master symposium, Emilie Ding, Camille Aleña, Selina Grüter, Chus Martinez, Michèle Graf, Hannah Weinberger, Stefanie Hessler, Laura Miriam Leonardi, Axelle Stiefel, October 2018

  • Promise no Promises!, Master symposium, Stefanie Hessler, October 2018

  • Is Technology Sexist, Master-Symposium, October 2017, Shusha Niederberger

  • Is Technology Sexist, Master-Symposium, October 2017, Paul Feigelfeld & Matylda Krzykowski

  • Women in Space, Master-Symposium, April 2019

    Nadine Wietlisbach, Chus Martínez, Raffael Dörig, Sabine Himmelsbach, Quinn Latimer, Fanni Fetzer

The Womxn’s Factor

A think tank research project

The Womxn’s Center for Excellence is a think tank tasked to asses, develop, and propose new social languages and methods to understand the role of women in the arts, culture, science and technology, as well as in all knowledge areas that are entangled with the field of culture today.

The project is a joint venture with Grażyna Kulczyk and Art Stations Foundation CH, an institution founded by Grażyna Kulczyk that will open the doors of Instituto Susch at Muzeum Susch in Engadine in late 2018. Entangled by a common interest in reviewing the role education in the arts plays to define the language and position of women, the research aims to situate crucial historical and current questions, to produce a form of teaching and debate around the subject, and to publish and explore how this work can be displayed, shared, and generously developed in forms of future, equal coexistence.

Seeing Into the Heart of Things: Earth and Equality Within Indigenous and Ancestral Knowledges

IN MEMORY OF VIRGINIA PEREZ RATON

Master symposium
3 – 5 November 2021

Institute Art Gender Nature HGK FHNW in Basel in collaboration with CULTURESCAPES 2021 Amazonia
As part of the symposium series Womxn in the Arts and Leadership

With Annette Amberg and Vídeo nas Aldeias, Vandria Borari, Kateryna Botanova, Felipe Castelblanco in conversation with Taita Hernando Chindoy and Ayenan Quinchoa, Pauliina Feodoroff, Katya García-Antón, Biung Ismahasan, knowbotiq with Ana Garzón Sabogal, Timimie Märak, Jeremy Narby, Ashfika Rahman, and Pamela Rosenkranz.

Keynote Lecture by Davi Kopenawa

Moderated by Chus Martínez and Quinn Latimer
Research associate: Marion Ritzmann, Karin Borer
Communication: Sarina Scheidegger
Technical team: Colin Barth, Janusha Kenganathan, Marco Mastrogiacomo, Milena Mihajlovic, Kristina Pavlovic, Konrad Sigl

→ Download press release and program

The symposium will be held at the Aula (D1.04) of the Academy of Art and Design in Basel or is accessible via live stream under the following links:

→ online link 3 November 2021
→ online link 4 November 2021
→ online link 5 November 2021

The symposium is open to the public. Please note that from October 18, 2021, a valid Covid-19 certificate is necessary to enter the FHNW Academy of Art and Design in Basel. Admission and control are accessible 15 minutes before the start of each event. Please wear a protective mask for mouth and nose.

Since the long sixteenth century, the organization of the world has found its hegemonic form in hierarchies of power and possession, between those who exploit and expropriate and those who are exploited and whose lives and lands and resources are expropriated. This is not the past, nor a function of ideology only. If the projected supremacy of one form of life over all others is only made possible by manifold forms of violence, one of these forms remains the invention (and constant reinvention) of nature by colonial cultures. This invention rests on an idea of progress in which nature is construed as what one emerges from. Indigenous ancestral epistemologies hold a different understanding of the real, though.

«The land owns us,» Aboriginal Australians might say. Or, as Ailton Krenak, the Brazilian Indigenous writer, thinker, and Krenak leader notes: «It is only possible to imagine nature if you are outside of it. How could a baby that is inside its mother’s uterus imagine the mother? How could a seed imagine the fruit? It is from outside that one imagines the inside.»

How, then, to resist this binary and the violence with which it is enforced? How to repair what it wounds? Held in conjunction with CULTURESCAPES 2021 Amazonia, the Swiss interdisciplinary cultural festival, the autumn Master symposium of the Institute Art Gender Nature will be dedicated to ideas and forms of Indigenous thought and allied artistic practices that imagine and propose disparate forms of co-existence. Over the course of three days at the Institute Art Gender Nature, from November 3 to 5, 2021, artists, elders, writers, curators, and allies will come together in Basel to discuss Indigenous thought, decolonial feminisms, and the political possibilities of the mythic imagination. Certain questions will preoccupy us: How do Indigenous cosmologies create forms for resistance? How does the Western imaginary of the Amazon, from its roots in racial capitalism to its corporate-tech, paternalistic present, cloud our understanding of how its peoples and nonhuman spirits narrate themselves? How, in particular, do ecological and decolonial practices find their form in the visual and oral matrices of Indigenous narratives across the world?

The first two days of the symposium, titled Seeing Into the Heart of Things: Earth and Equality Within Indigenous and Ancestral Knowledges, will be devoted to presentations, conversations, talks, and performances that will speak to such questions as well as field possible answers. Also included will be a book launch and presentation of the CULTURESCAPES 2021 reader, Amazonia: Anthology as Cosmology (Sternberg Press, 2021), with its editors Kateryna Botanova and Quinn Latimer. The gathering’s third and final day will feature a keynote lecture by Davi Kopenawa, the shaman and spokesperson for the Yanomami people. For more than three decades he has led the campaign to secure Yanomami land rights in the Brazilian states of Roraima and Amazonas; he is also the author of the acclaimed book The Falling Sky: Words of a Yanomami Shaman, written with Bruce Albert. In it, Davi Kopenawa notes: «When your eyes follow the tracks of my words, you will know that we are still alive, for Omama’s image protects us. Then you will be able to think: ‘These are beautiful words.’» Language testifies to co-existence, to shared life itself.

We hope that you will join us in Basel.

Going to the Limits of Your Longing, Research as Another Name for Care

IN MEMORY OF MARION VON OSTEN

As part of the symposium series Womxn in the Arts and Leadership

Master symposium
17 – 18 March 2021

Contributions by by Maria Thereza Alves, Ursula Biemann, Regina Bittner, Barbara Casavecchia, Anja Kirschner, Kapwani Kiwanga, Maria Lind, Otobong Nkanga, Lydia Ourahmane and Myriam Amroun, Filipa Ramos, Kerstin Stakemeier, as well as Yvonne Volkart and Peter Spillmann

Moderated by Chus Martínez and Quinn Latimer
Research Associate: Marion Ritzmann
Press and communication: Anna Francke

→ Download Press release and program

The symposium is open to the public via Zoom and will be held in English. 
→ Zoom link 17 March 2021
→ Zoom link 18 March 2021

Once upon a time, or just a couple of decades ago, womxn artists from various and diverging geographies began to query and study the gap that has traditionally existed between artistic and non-artistic labor. As artistic labor came to be understood as more representative of society’s functioning as a whole, new questions concerning the political dimensions of art and the role of the artist in contemporary society came to life. Research has often been the term applied to the act of inquiring into the postcolonial past (and neocolonial present), an inquiry whose very substance gives voice to the need to revise the fundaments of our unachieved and fragile democracies, their languages, tools, forms of violence, and myriad legacies.

Going to the Limits of Your Longing, Research as Another Name for Care, the spring 2021 Master symposium at Art Institute HGK FHNW, in Basel, will be devoted to ideas and forms of artistic research that center art as a practice in service of the social. With this symposium we will revisit certain moments in our recent history and present of researching, producing, and exhibiting art in the name of such beliefs, namely social justice. To that end, this gathering will be dedicated to the memory of Marion von Osten, the artist, curator, researcher, writer, and teacher whose curatorial, theoretical, and altogether empathic approaches to the medium of exhibition-making revolved around artistic research devoted to the collective.

In von Osten’s memory, and under her exemplary influence, we will examine the moments when exhibitions became filled with archives, with documents of testimonies and documentaries of testifying moving images. Institutions suddenly saw the need to create collective collections—like the Former West curatorial research project, for example. It was the beginning of a transformation that, since then, has undergone many turns and many faces, but that remains at the core of understanding art as a practice that serves the social and all the forms of justice (and its opposite) that enumerate it.

Womxn in Motion

The making and unmaking of the world through movement and movements

As part of the symposium series
Women in the Arts and Leadership

Master symposium
7 – 8 October 2020 (open to the public*)
9 October 2020, Workshop (Master students only)
Tower Building Auditorium D 1.04, Freilager-Platz 1, 4002 Basel

Guests: Kat Anderson, Julieta Aranda, Barbara Casavecchia, Mayra A. Rodríguez Castro, Pan Daijing, Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė, Ingela Ihrman, Pauline Curnier Jardin, Bhanu Kapil, Lynne Kouassi, Isabel Lewis, Tessa Mars, Sonia Fernández Pan, Sadie Plant, Martina-Sofie Wildberger

Moderated by Quinn Latimer and Chus Martínez
Research Assistant: Alice Wilke

→ Download press release and program

The symposium will be held in English and will be streamed live:
→ livestream 7 October 2020
→ livestream 8 October 2020

*A limited number of places was open to an external audience upon advance registration only (registration period expired). Masks are mandatory.

The symposium Womxn in Motion is a collaboration with Instituto Susch / Art Stations Foundation CH and Grażyna Kulczyk.

Womxn in Motion is dedicated to ideas and iterations of performance, and to the way in which its embodied practices—its bodies—are often framed or received by narrow notions not only of gender, race, class, geography, and technology, but of what performance itself means and entails: a body in motion, for example. Whose body, though, and what kind of movement? Movement is always both, suggesting something singular—a body in tender, private effort—and something collective. Picture a “demonstration” (in every sense) of bodies in communal action, in solidarity, in some street. Picture bodies on some stage (itself a street, perhaps); now feel yourself among them. This symposium, then, is dedicated not only to the practices of artists and thinkers who engage bodies (their own or others) and corporeal movement in their work, but to those social movements built on a collective body demanding collective change together.

Women on Earth

As part of the symposium series
Women in the Arts and Leadership

Master symposium
9 – 10 October 2019, 10 am – 5 pm (open to the public)
11 October 2019, Workshop (Master students only)
Tower Building Auditorium D 1.04

→ Download program

Moderated by Chus Martínez & Quinn Latimer
Research Assistants: Marion Ritzmann, Alice Wilke

The symposium will be held in English.

Guests: Rosella Biscotti, Neha Choksi, Ingela Ihrman, Institute of Queer Ecology, Sophie Jung,  Lysann König, Thomas Lempertz, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, New Mineral Collective (Tanya Busse and Emilija Škarnulytė), Katrin Niedermeier, Heather Phillipson, Mathilde Rosier, Lena Maria Thüring

As a sequel to Promise no Promises! and Women in Space, the third symposium at Art Institute will be dedicated to Earth, its ideas, its spin, its possible dark futures. These symposia, moderated by Chus Martínez and Quinn Latimer, are a series of public events within the framework of the Women’s Center for Excellence, a long-term research project initiated by the Art Institute, together with Instituto Susch, a joint venture with Grażyna Kulczyk and Art Stations Foundation CH.

Women in space

Master symposium as part of the series
«Women in the Arts and Leadership»

4 – 5 April 2019
Art Institute HGK FHNW in Basel

Watch Live Stream
→ Download program

Guests: Nikola Dietrich, Mareike Dittmer, Raffael Dörig, Elvira Dyangani Ose, Fanni Fetzer, Elena Filipovic, iLiana Fokianaki, Ines Goldbach, Sabine Himmelsbach, Claire Hoffmann, Manuela Moscoso, Marie Muracciole, Elfi Turpin and Nadine Wietlisbach

Making reference to the exploratory nature of space travel, and all its attendant problematics and projections, «Women in Space» thematizes the role of scale and space and power in envisioning women in the art system. Who is alien here, and what kind of system, solar or other?

Moderated by Chus Martínez and Quinn Latimer, this symposium is a public event within the framework of the Women's Center for Excellence, a long-term research initiated by the Art Institute in Basel together with Instituto Susch, a joint venture with Grażyna Kulczyk and Art Stations Foundation CH.

«Women in Space» is made possible thanks to the generous support of the Federal Office of Culture FOC.

Promise No Promises:
The Podcast!

The Art Institute and Instituto Susch / Art Stations Foundation CH launch a new joint podcast series

Promise No Promises is a podcasts series produced by the Women’s Center for Excellence, a research project between the Art Institute and the Instituto Susch—a joint venture with Grażyna Kulczyk and Art Stations Foundation CH. The Women’s Center for Excellency is conceived as a think tank tasked to assess, develop, and propose new social languages and methods to understand the role of women in the arts, culture, science, and technology, as well as in all knowledge areas that are interconnected with the field of culture today.

Subscribe to the channel on Apple Podcasts
itunes.apple.com

Listen to the podcast on the Art Institute's website
dertank.ch

PROMISE NO PROMISES!

Master symposium as part of the series
«Women in the Arts and Leadership»

10 – 11 October 2018
Art Institute HGK FHNW in Basel

→ To the podcast

Guests: Stefanie Hessler, Natascha Sadr, Hannah WeinbergerAlexandra Navratil, Julieta Aranda, Elise Lammer, Emily Ding, Laura Miriam Leonardi, Selina Grüter & Michèle Graf, Camille Aleña, Axelle Stiefel, Katharina Brandl, Lhaga Koondhor, Raffaela Naldi Rossano and Mareike Dittmer

This symposium is a two-day meeting among artists and practitioners to pose questions on the position of women in the arts. Moderated by Quinn Latimer and Chus Martínez it inaugurates a series of events as part of the Women’s Center for Excellence, a long-term research project initiated by the Art Institute together with Instituto Susch, a joint venture with Grażyna Kulczyk and Art Stations Foundation CH.

But Still, Like Air,
I’ll Rise

by Chus Martínez

e-flux Journal #92, June 2018
e-flux.com/journal

I am under the impression that when a woman reaches a certain position, all the privileges that this position has implied historically are already gone. It is very often the case that a woman’s arrival at a high level of influence within an organization is also an indicator of an internal crisis that is going to affect the whole organization. It is often said that there is an increase of women directors at mid-sized institutions (like Kunstvereine in Germany, Kunsthalles, and other non-for-profit structures) and yet this abundance is accompanied by talk of an institutional crisis, and a negative development of the budget and the staff, together with a demand of the newly appointed women directors to compensate for the lack of third-party funding for the institutions. [...]

Read full article

Is Technology Sexist?

Master symposium
On Media, Post-humanity and the Role of Gender
in the development of a new Media Practice

11 – 13 October 2017 
Art Institute, FHNW Academy of Arts and Design in Basel

Guests: Alan Bogana, Raffael Dörig, Paul Feigelfeld, Hannes Grassegger, Mavie Hörbiger, Matylda Krzykowski, Shusha Niederberger, Filipa Ramos, Emily Segal, Who writes his_tory?

Hosted by Chus Martínez and Paul Feigenfeld

The symposium has been made possible thanks to the generous support of the Federal Office of Culture FOC.

• Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, Performance von Isabel Lewis, Oktober 2020, Foto: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, Vortrag von Mayra A. Rodríguez Castro, Oktober 2020, Foto: Art Institute

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, Performance von Dorota Gawęda und Eglė Kulbokaitė, Oktober 2020, Foto: Institut Kunst

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, Sonia Fernández Pan, Lynne Kouassi, Isabel Lewis, Sadie Plant, Quinn Latimer, Chus Martínez, Oktober 2020, Foto: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, Isabel Lewis, Sonia Fernández Pan, Oktober 2020, Foto: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, Quinn Latimer, Lynne Kouassi, Chus Martínez, Oktober 2020, Foto: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Womxn in Motion, Master-Symposium, Performance von Isabel Lewis, Oktober 2020, Foto: Jennifer Merlyn Scherler

  • Women on Earth, Master-Symposium, Chus Martínez, Rosella Biscotti, Sophie Jung, Quinn Latimer, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Oktober 2019

  • Women on Earth, Master-Symposium, Quinn Latimer, Oktober 2019, Foto: Christian Knörr

  • Women on Earth, Master-Symposium, Lysann König, Songs for Two Suns,, Performance, Oktober 2019,

  • Promise no Promises!, Master-Symposium, Natasha Sadr, Chus Martinez, Mareike Dittmer, Quinn Latimer, Stefanie Hessler, Oktober 2018

  • Promise no Promises!, Master-Symposium, Stefanie Hessler, Oktober 2018

  • Is Technology Sexist?, Master-Symposium, Oktober 2017, Shusha Niederberger

  • Is Technology Sexist?, Master-Symposium, Oktober 2017, Paul Feigelfeld & Matylda Krzykowski

  • Women in Space, Master-Symposium, April 2019, Nadine Wietlisbach, Chus Martínez, Raffael Dörig, Sabine Himmelsbach, Quinn Latimer, Fanni Fetzer

The Womxn’s Factor

Ein Think Tank Forschungsprojekt

Das Womxn's Center for Excellence ist ein Think Tank mit der Aufgabe, neue soziale Sprachen und Methoden zu bewerten, zu entwickeln und vorzuschlagen, um die Rolle von Frauen in Kunst, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Technologie, sowie in allen Wissensfeldern, die heute mit dem Bereich der Kultur verwoben sind, zu verstehen.

Das Projekt ist eine gemeinsame Unternehmung mit Grażyna Kulczyk und der Art Stations Foundation CH, einer von Grażyna Kulczyk gegründeten Institution, die als Instituto Susch im Muzeum Susch im Engadin Ende 2018 ihre Pforten öffnet. Uns verbindet ein gemeinsames Interesse daran, jene Rolle zu überprüfen, die Bildung in den Künsten dabei spielt, die Sprache und die Position von Frauen zu definieren. Die Forschung zielt darauf ab, wichtige historische und aktuelle Fragen zu stellen und eine Lehre und Diskussion zum Thema zu produzieren und zu veröffentlichen. Wir erforschen, wie diese Arbeit gezeigt, geteilt und freigiebig in Form zukünftiger, gleichberechtigter Lebensgemeinschaften entwickelt werden kann.

Seeing Into the Heart of Things: Earth and Equality Within Indigenous and Ancestral Knowledges

IN MEMORY OF VIRGINIA PEREZ RATON

Master Symposium
3. – 5. November 2021

Institut Kunst Gender Natur HGK FHNW in Basel in Kollaboration mit CULTURESCAPES 2021 Amazonas
Als Teil der Symposiumsreihe Womxn in the Arts and Leadership

Mit Annette Amberg und Vídeo nas Aldeias, Vandria Borari, Kateryna Botanova, Felipe Castelblanco im Gespräch mit Taita Hernando Chindoy und Ayenan Quinchoa, Pauliina Feodoroff, Katya García-Antón, Biung Ismahasan, knowbotiq mit Ana Garzón Sabogal, Timimie Märak, Jeremy Narby, Ashfika Rahman und Pamela Rosenkranz.

Keynote Vortrag von Davi Kopenawa

Moderiert von Chus Martínez und Quinn Latimer
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeit: Marion Ritzmann, Karin Borer
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: Sarina Scheidegger
Technik: Colin Barth, Janusha Kenganathan, Marco Mastrogiacomo, Milena Mihajlovic, Kristina Pavlovic, Konrad Sigl

→ Download Pressetext und Programm

Das Symposium findet in der Aula (D1.04) der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW in Basel statt (Sprache: Englisch) oder ist über folgende Links via Live-Stream zugänglich:

→ Online Link 3. November 2021
→ Online Link 4. November 2021
→ Online Link 5. November 2021

Die Veranstaltung ist öffentlich. Bitte beachten Sie, dass ab dem 18. Oktober 2021 ein gültiges Covid-19-Zertifikat für den Zutritt zur Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW in Basel erforderlich ist. Einlass und Kontrolle sind jeweils 15 Minuten vor Veranstaltungsbeginn zugänglich. Bitte tragen Sie eine Schutzmaske für Mund und Nase.

Seit dem «langen 16. Jahrhundert» ist die Ordnung der Welt geprägt von hegemonialen Macht- und Besitzhierarchien zwischen denen, die ausbeuten und enteignen, und denen, die ausgebeutet werden und deren Leben, Land und Ressourcen enteignet werden. Diese Verhältnisse gehören weder der Vergangenheit an noch sind sie ausschliesslich ideologisch bedingt. Wenn die vermeintliche Vorherrschaft einer Lebensform über alle anderen nur durch den Einsatz vielfältiger Formen von Gewalt möglich ist, so besteht eine dieser Formen in der Erfindung (und ständigen Neuerfindung) der Natur durch die kolonialen Kulturen.

Diese Erfindung beruht auf einem Fortschrittsbegriff, der die Natur als das begreift, woraus man hervorgeht. Das Verständnis des Realen in der überlieferten indigenen Epistemologie ist jedoch ein anderes: «Wir gehören dem Land» könnten etwa die Aborigines behaupten. Oder, wie Ailton Krenak, der brasilianische indigene Schriftsteller, Denker und Vertreter der Krenak, anmerkt: «Man kann sich die Natur nur vorstellen, wenn man sich ausserhalb von ihr befindet. Wie könnte sich ein Baby, das sich im Uterus seiner Mutter befindet, die Mutter vorstellen? Wie könnte sich ein Samen die Frucht vorstellen? Das Innere kann man sich nur von aussen vorstellen.»

Wie also kann man sich dieser Binarität und der Gewalt, mit der sie durchgesetzt wird, widersetzen? Wie kann man heilen, was von ihr verletzt wird? In Kooperation mit CULTURESCAPES 2021 Amazonas, dem interdisziplinären Schweizer Kulturfestival, widmet sich das Herbst-Master-Symposium des Institut Kunst Gender Natur den Konzepten und Formen indigenen Denkens sowie verbündeten künstlerischen Praktiken, die unterschiedliche Formen der Koexistenz imaginieren und vorbringen. Während des dreitägigen Symposiums am Institut Kunst Gender Natur, das vom 3. bis 5. November 2021 stattfindet, werden Künstler:innen, Älteste, Autor:innen, Kurator:innen und Verbündete in Basel zusammenkommen, um dekolonialen Feminismus und die politischen Potentiale der mythischen Imagination zu diskutieren. Dabei werden wir uns mit folgenden Fragen befassen: Auf welche Weise schaffen indigene Kosmologien Formen des Widerstands? Inwiefern vernebelt die westliche Vorstellung vom Amazonasgebiet, von ihren Wurzeln im «Rassenkapitalismus» bis hin zu ihrer paternalistischen Corporate-Tech-Gegenwart, unser Verständnis davon, wie die Völker und nichtmenschlichen Geister des Amazonas ́ ihre Geschichte erzählen? Wie genau werden ökologische und dekoloniale Praktiken in den visuellen und mündlichen Matrixen des indigenen Denkens und der indigenen Erzählungen auf der ganzen Welt sichtbar?

Die ersten beiden Tage des Symposiums mit dem Titel Seeing Into the Heart of Things: Earth and Equality Within Indigenous and Ancestral Knowledges sind Präsentationen, Gesprächen, Vorträgen und Performances gewidmet, die sich mit solchen Fragen befassen und mögliche Antworten aufzeigen. Ausserdem wird es eine Buchpräsentation des CULTURESCAPES 2021 Readers, Amazonia: Anthology as Cosmology (Sternberg Press, 2021), mit den Herausgeberinnen Kateryna Botanova und Quinn Latimer geben. Am dritten und letzten Tag des Symposiums wird Davi Kopenawa, Schamane und Sprecher des Yanomami-Volkes, einen Keynote Vortrag halten. Seit mehr als drei Jahrzehnten führt er die Kampagne zur Sicherung der Landrechte der Yanomami in den brasilianischen Gebieten Roraima und Amazonas an. Er ist der Autor des viel beachteten Buches The Falling Sky: Words of a Yanomami Shaman, das er zusammen mit Bruce Albert geschrieben hat. Darin bemerkt Davi Kopenawa: «Wenn eure Augen den Spuren meiner Worte folgen, werdet ihr wissen, dass wir noch am Leben sind, denn Omamas Bild schützt uns. Dann wirst du denken können: 'Das sind schöne Worte'.» Die Sprache zeugt von der Koexistenz, vom gemeinsamen Leben selbst.

Wir hoffen, dass Sie uns in Basel besuchen werden.

Going to the Limits of Your Longing, Research as Another Name for Care

IN MEMORY OF MARION VON OSTEN

Als Teil der Symposiumsreihe Womxn in the Arts and Leadership

Master Symposium
17. – 18. März 2021

Mit Beiträgen von Maria Thereza Alves, Ursula Biemann, Regina Bittner, Barbara Casavecchia, Anja Kirschner, Kapwani Kiwanga, Maria Lind, Otobong Nkanga, Lydia Ourahmane und Myriam Amroun, Filipa Ramos, Kerstin Stakemeier sowie Yvonne Volkart und Peter Spillmann

Moderiert von Chus Martínez und Quinn Latimer
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin: Marion Ritzmann
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: Anna Francke

→ Download Pressetext und Programm

Das Symposium ist öffentlich via Zoom und findet in Englisch statt. 
→ Zoom Link 17. März 2021
→ Zoom Link 18. März 2021

Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit, vor einigen Jahrzehnten, begannen Künstler*innen aus verschiedensten geographischen Regionen, die konventionelle Kluft zwischen künstlerischer und nicht-künstlerischer Arbeit kritisch zu hinterfragen. In demselben Masse wie künstlerische Arbeit als zunehmend repräsentativ für gesamtgesellschaftliche Prozesse verstanden wurde, kamen neue Fragen nach den politischen Dimensionen von Kunst und der gesellschaftlichen Rolle von Künstler*innen auf. Der Begriff Forschung ist häufig für das Untersuchen der postkolonialen Vergangenheit (und neokolonialen Gegenwart) verwendet worden – eine Befragung, die im Kern die Notwendigkeit zur Sprache bringt, die Grundlagen unserer unvollendeten und fragilen Demokratien, ihre Sprachen und Werkzeuge, ihre Formen der Gewalt und ihre zahllosen Vermächtnisse zu überdenken.

Das im Frühling 2021 stattfindende Master-Symposium Going to the Limits of Your Longing, Research as Another Name for Care des Institut Kunst HGK FHNW in Basel ist Ansätzen der künstlerischen Forschung gewidmet, die Kunst als eine Praxis im Dienste des Sozialen begreifen. Mit diesem Symposium werden wir bestimmte Momente in der jüngeren Geschichte und Gegenwart des Forschens sowie Produzierens und Ausstellens von Kunst mit Blick auf eine soziale Gerechtigkeit aufgreifen. In diesem Sinne ist das Symposium dem Andenken an Marion von Osten gewidmet, der Künstler*in, Kurator*in, Forscher*in, Autor*in und Dozent*in, deren kuratorische, theoretische und durchwegs empathische Praxis des Ausstellungsmachens auf eine dem Kollektiven verpflichtete künstlerische Forschung fokussierte.

Im Geiste von Marion von Osten werden wir die Momente beleuchten, in denen Ausstellungen mit Archiven, mit Dokumenten von Zeug*innenaussagen und mit dokumentarischen bewegten Bildern gefüllt wurden. Damals erkannten Institutionen plötzlich die Notwendigkeit, kollektive Sammlungen wie das kuratorische Forschungsprojekt Former West anzulegen. Mit Initiativen wie diesen setzte ein Transformationsprozess ein, der seither viele Wandlungen durchlaufen und viele Gesichter angenommen hat, der aber weiterhin zentral für ein Verständnis von Kunst als einer Praxis ist, die dem Sozialen und allen Formen von Gerechtigkeit (und ihrem Gegenteil) verschrieben ist.

Womxn in Motion

Als Teil der Symposiumsreihe
Women in the Arts and Leadership

Master-Symposium
7. – 8. Oktober 2020 (öffentlich*)
9. Oktober 2020, interner Workshop (nur Master-Studierende)
Hochhaus Aula D 1.04, Freilager-Platz 1, 4002 Basel

Gäste: Kat Anderson, Julieta Aranda, Barbara Casavecchia, Mayra A. Rodríguez Castro, Pan Daijing, Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė, Ingela Ihrman, Pauline Curnier Jardin, Bhanu Kapil, Lynne Kouassi, Isabel Lewis, Tessa Mars, Sonia Fernández Pan, Sadie Plant, Martina-Sofie Wildberger

Moderiert von Quinn Latimer und Chus Martínez
Wissenschaftliche Assistenz: Alice Wilke

→ Download Pressetext und Programm

Das Symposium findet auf Englisch statt und wird als Live-Stream übertragen:
→ Livestream 7. Oktober 2020
→ Livestream 8. Oktober 2020

*Die Anmeldefrist für eine begrenzte Anzahl Plätze für ein öffentliches Publikum ist bereits abgelaufen. Es gilt eine Maskenpflicht.

Das Symposium Womxn in Motion ist eine Kooperation mit dem Instituto Susch / Art Stations Foundation CH und Grażyna Kulczyk.

Womxn in Motion widmet sich den Ideen und Wiederholungen von Performance und der Art und Weise, in der ihre verkörperten Praktiken – ihre Körper – oft von engen Vorstellungen nicht nur von Gender, Race, Klasse, Geographie und Technologie eingerahmt oder rezipiert werden, sondern auch davon, was Performance selbst bedeutet und mit sich bringt: ein Körper in Bewegung zum Beispiel. Wessen Körper aber und welche Art von Bewegung? Bewegung ist immer beides und suggeriert etwas Einzigartiges – einen Körper in zartem, privatem Streben – und etwas Kollektives. Stellen wir uns eine «Demonstration» (in jeder Hinsicht) von Körpern in gemeinschaftlicher Aktion, in Solidarität, in irgendeiner Strasse vor. Stellen wir uns Körper auf einer Bühne vor (selbst vielleicht eine Strasse) und fühlen uns jetzt als Teil davon. Dieses Symposium ist also nicht nur den Praktiken von Künstler*innen und Denker*innen gewidmet, die Körper (ihre eigenen oder andere) und körperliche Bewegungen in ihre Arbeit einbeziehen, sondern auch jenen sozialen Bewegungen, die auf einem kollektiven Körper basieren, der gemeinsam kollektive Veränderungen fordert.

Women on Earth

Als Teil der Symposiumsreihe
Women in the Arts and Leadership

Master-Symposium
9. – 10. Oktober 2019, 10:00 – 17:00 (öffentlich)
11. Oktober 2019, interner Workshop (nur Master-Studierende)
Hochhaus Aula D 1.04

→ Download Programm

Gäste: Rosella Biscotti, Neha Choksi, Ingela Ihrman, Institute of Queer Ecology, Sophie Jung, Lysann König, Thomas Lempertz, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, New Mineral Collective (Tanya Busse and Emilija Škarnulytė), Katrin Niedermeier, Heather Phillipson, Mathilde Rosier, Lena Maria Thüring

Moderiert von Chus Martínez & Quinn Latimer
Wissenschaftliche Assistenz: Marion Ritzmann, Alice Wilke

Das Symposium findet auf Englisch statt.

Als Fortsetzung von Promise no Promises! und Women in Space ist das dritte Symposium am Institut Kunst HGK FHNW der Erde, unseren Vorstellungen von ihr, ihrem Spin, ihrer möglicherweise dunklen Zukunft gewidmet. Die Symposiumsreihe, moderiert von Chus Martínez und Quinn Latimer, ist eine Serie öffentlicher Veranstaltungen im Rahmen des Langzeitforschungsprojekts Women’s Center for Excellence, das vom Institut Kunst zusammen mit dem Instituto Susch – einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit Grażyna Kulczyk und der Art Stations Foundation CH – initiiert wurde.

Women in Space

Master-Symposium im Rahmen der Serie
Women in the Arts and Leadership

4.–5. April 2019
Institut Kunst HGK FHNW in Basel

Watch Live Stream
→ Zum Programm

Gäste: Nikola Dietrich, Mareike Dittmer, Raffael Dörig, Elvira Dyangani Ose, Fanni Fetzer, Elena Filipovic, iLiana Fokianaki, Ines Goldbach, Sabine Himmelsbach, Claire Hoffmann, Manuela Moscoso, Marie Muracciole, Elfi Turpin und Nadine Wietlisbach

Im Hinblick auf das forschende Wesen der Raumfahrt sowie all ihrer Problematiken und Projektionen thematisiert «Women in Space» die Bedeutung von Massstab, Raum und Macht für die Vision von Frauen im Kunstbetrieb. Wer ist hier fremd; haben wir es mit einem Sonnensystem oder einer anderen Konstellation zu tun?

Das von Quinn Latimer und Chus Martínez moderierte Symposium ist eine öffentliche Veranstaltung des Women’s Center for Excellence, ein Forschungsprojekt, das vom Institut Kunst in Basel zusammen mit dem Instituto Susch – einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit Grażyna Kulczyk und der Art Stations Foundation CH – initiiert wurde.

Das Symposium wird ermöglicht dank der grosszügigen Unterstützung des Bundesamtes für Kultur BAK.

Promise No Promises:
Der Podcast!

Das Institut Kunst und Instituto Susch / Art Stations Foundation CH lancieren eine gemeinsame Podcastserie

Promise No Promises ist eine Podcastserie des Women's Center for Excellence, ein Forschungsprojekt des Institut Kunst und Instituto Susch - eine Initiative mit Grażyna Kulczyk und Art Stations Foundation CH. Das Women's Center for Excellency ist als Think-Tank konzipiert, der neue soziale Sprachen und Methoden thematisieren, entwickeln und vorschlagen soll. In erster Linie geht es darum, die Rolle der Frauen in der Kunst, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Technologie sowie in allen mit dem Kulturbereich verbundenen Wissensgebieten zu verstehen.

Podcast abonnieren auf Apple Podcasts
itunes.apple.com

Podcast auf der Webseite des Institut Kunst hören
dertank.ch

PROMISE NO PROMISES!

Master-Symposium als Teil der Reihe
Women in the Arts and Leadership

10.–12. Oktober 2018
Institut Kunst HGK FHNW in Basel

→ Zum Podcast

Gäste: Katharina Brandl, Stefanie Hessler, Natasha Sadr, Hannah WeinbergerAlexandra Navratil, Julieta Aranda, Elise Lammer, Emilie Ding, Laura Miriam Leonardi, Selina Grüter & Michèle Graf, Camille Aleña, Axelle Stiefel, Katharina Brandl, Lhaga Koondhor, Raffaela Naldi Rossano und Mareike Dittmer

Das Master-Symposium ist ein zweitägiges Treffen zwischen Kunstschaffenden und Praktizierenden mit dem Ziel, Fragen zur Position der Frau in den Künsten zu stellen. Es wird von Quinn Latimer und Chus Martínez moderiert und lanciert eine Veranstaltungsserie als Teil des Women's Center for Excellence, ein Forschungsprojekt, das vom Institut Kunst in Basel zusammen mit dem Instituto Susch – einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit Grażyna Kulczyk und der Art Stations Foundation CH – initiiert wurde.

But Still, Like Air, I’ll Rise

von Chus Martínez

e-flux Journal #92, Juni 2018
e-flux.com/journal

I am under the impression that when a woman reaches a certain position, all the privileges that this position has implied historically are already gone. It is very often the case that a woman’s arrival at a high level of influence within an organization is also an indicator of an internal crisis that is going to affect the whole organization. It is often said that there is an increase of women directors at mid-sized institutions (like Kunstvereine in Germany, Kunsthalles, and other non-for-profit structures) and yet this abundance is accompanied by talk of an institutional crisis, and a negative development of the budget and the staff, together with a demand of the newly appointed women directors to compensate for the lack of third-party funding for the institutions. [...]

Lese den ganzen Artikel (auf Englisch)

Is Technology Sexist?

Master-Symposium
On Media, Post-humanity and the Role of Gender
in the development of a new Media Practice

11.–13. Oktober 2017
Institut Kunst HGK FHNW in Basel

Gäste: Alan Bogana, Raffael Dörig, Paul Feigelfeld, Hannes Grassegger, Mavie Hörbiger, Matylda Krzykowski, Shusha Niederberger, Filipa Ramos, Emily Segal, Who writes his_tory?

Moderation: Chus Martínez und Paul Feigenfeld

Das Symposium wurde ermöglicht dank der grosszügigen Unterstützung des Bundesamtes für Kultur BAK.